Chi-town / D-town

The last couple of weekends have been filled with friends, fun, and family.  Two weeks ago, I went to Chicago to celebrate a soon-to-be bride, Carly, who is the fiance of one of Z’s life-long friends.  I sometimes forget how easy it is to fly to Chicago.  By the time we’re up in the air, we are practically making our descent!

There were some scenic views from my window seat this time.

Chicago June 2014 -5

Chicago June 2014 -6We split up into 2 groups and stayed at two apartments near downtown.  I stayed with a gal I’d never met before, Saleigh, who was one of those people I felt immediately comfortable around.  Don’t you love meeting those kind of people? We hung out for a little bit, then got ready for a late dinner at Dawson.

Chicago June 2014 -8

Chicago June 2014 -7

We bar hopped around after dinner, then headed back for some shut-eye.

(Some of the group)

Chicago June 2014 -9

 

The next day we woke up to a beautiful day, so we hung out by the pool all day.  Both girls live in high-rise buildings, which I’m not sure I would enjoy.  I’m not very afraid of heights, but I don’t know how I’d feel about spending every day 20 floors above the ground (eek!).  The views are pretty spectacular, though.

Chicago June 2014 -2

That night before dinner and dancing, we met up at the other apartment and played some fun games, and especially had fun with this guy…

Chicago June 2014 -3

Yup, that’s a cardboard cut-out of AJ from the Backstreet Boys.  I’m just going to leave it at that. 😉

It was a great weekend hanging with the bride and meeting some new friends!

Chicago June 2014 -4

Over the 4th of July, Z was out of town, so I road tripped it down to Des Moines to see my parents and hang with my niece, Addy.  My sister  and her husband had a wedding to attend, so my parents and I had toddler duty.  She is growing so fast!  The life of a 2 year old is a bit crazy, but really fun.  She says my name all the time now and I’m eating it up with a spoon!

My road trip buddy & navigator.

June 2014 6

June 2014 9We saw the 4th of July parade this year!  It was the most gorgeous day.

Nothing says American Midwest like John Deere.

June 2014 10

Parade-ing, bath time fun, and shopping with Addy!  It was good to be home.

June 2014 11

June 2014 8

June 2014 7

One comment

Leave a Reply

